If you select a single installer element in the tree of installer elements, you can
edit its properties on the right side.
Selecting multiple installer elements is possible on the same
tree level, i.e. all selected elements have to be siblings in the tree.
When the configuration area is focused, you can transfer the focus back to the tree of installer elements
with the keyboard by pressing
The tree of installer elements provides the following actions in the toolbar on the right that operate on the
current selection. You can also access these actions from the context menu or use the associated keyboard
All selected installer elements will be deleted after a confirmation dialog when invoking the
Delete action. The deleted
installer elements cannot be restored.
After you add a installer element, the tree of installer elements shows it with its
default name. This is often enough, however, if you have multiple instances of the
same installer element alongside, a custom name makes it easier to distinguish these
instances. You can assign a custom name to each installer element with the
The default name is still displayed in brackets after the custom name. To revert to the
default, just enter an empty custom name in the rename dialog.
By default, installer elements have no comments associated with them.
You can add comments to selected installer elements with the
Add Comments action.
When a comment is added, the affected installer elements will receive a "Comments" tab.
After adding a comment to a single installer element, the comment area is focused automatically.
Likewise, you can remove comments from one or more installer elements with the
Remove Comments action.
In order to visit all comments, you can use the Show next comment and
Show previous comment actions. These actions will focus the comment area automatically
and wrap around if no further comments can be found.
In order to "comment out" installer elements, you can use the
Disable action. The
configuration of the disabled installer elements will not be displayed, their
entries in the tree of installer elements will be shown in gray and they will not be checked
for errors when the project is built.
- Copy and paste
install4j offers an inter-process clipboard for installer elements. You can
installer elements to the clipboard and
Paste them in the same or a different instance
of install4j. Note that references to launchers or references to files in the distribution tree might
not be valid after pasting to a different project.
Pasted installer elements are appended to the end of the same level that would be chosen if you added installer elements of that type.
Sequence restrictions with respect to the already present installer elements
may force a different order.
If your selection is a single contiguous interval, you can move the entire block
down in the list.
The selection can only be moved on the same level with the reorder actions. To move the selection to
a different parent, you can cut and paste it (see above).
You can create a screen group or an action group from the
selected installer elements with the
Create Group action.
The new group will be inserted in place of the selected installer elements.
You can dissolve a group with the Dissolve Group action. This
action is only enabled if the selection consists of a single screen group or action group. The elements contained
in the group will be inserted in place of the group. Nested groups will not be dissolved.
You can reuse screens and actions by linking to a single definition. This is particularly useful if you
define a installer maintenance application that
should repeat parts of the installer, such as a number of forms that query the user for initial values to set
up your application. Also, links are the only way to integrate screens and actions from the installer or uninstaller
merged project into the main project.
In order to link to a screen, action, screen group or action group, you click on the add button
and select Add Link Into from the popup menu. The first entry in that popup
menu is always "This project" for links into the current project. If you have set up
merged projects, then you get an
entry for each merged project. The configuration area of a link will only contain a button that
selects the original definition in the tree of installer elements. For merged projects, the
merged project is opened in a new window, unless it is already open.
Another way to add a link into the same project is to select the installer element and invoke the
Copy Link action. Then you
navigate to the installer element where the link should be inserted and invoke the
Paste Link action.
For links into the same project, install4j ensures that there are no broken links in the tree of installer elements.
When you delete an installer element, all links to it will be deleted as well. If that is the case, the deletion
message will tell you how many links are about to be deleted. Links into merged projects may be broken,
this condition is shown in in the configuration pane.